Student Attendance & Dropout Prevention

Camaline Nathaniel, Attendance Manager
Attendance Department/School Performance
201 N. Front Street, 5th Floor (Rm 515)
Camden, New Jersey 08102
856-966-2000, Ext 38021
                

                                                                                                              
Team 1 2
School Camden High School Woodrow Wilson
DPO Jerry Swindell ext 65559 jswindell@camden.k12.nj.us Tommy Clark ext 65560 tommyclark@camden.k12.nj.us
ATO Carol Cooper ext 65525 cacooper@camden.k12.nj.us Desmond Newbill ext 65626 dnewbill@camden.k12.nj.us
ATO Cynthia Crisdon ext 65561 ccrisdon@camden.k12.nj.us Kim Gonzalez ext 65630 kgonzalez@camden.k12.nj.us
Team 3 4
DPO Amelia Wise ext 65522 awise@camden.k12.nj.us Mischa Sewell ext65622 msewell@camden.k12.nj.us
ATO/schools Emedy Haynes ext 65522 ehaynes@camden.k12.nj.us *Dudley and Cramer Carmen Ruiz ext 65626 cruiz@camden.k12.nj.us *Davis and Vets.
ATO/schools Mary Newbill ext 65624 mburton@camden.k12.nj.us *Camva, Yorkship, Brimm Crystal Ford ext 65627 cford@camden.k12.nj.us *Catto and Cream
ATO/schools Rasheeda Bishop ext 65625 rbishop@camden.k12.nj.us *HB Wilson and Sharp Maggie Tatum ext 65628 mtatum@camden.k12.nj.us *Cooper's Poynt and Forest Hill
ATO/schools Ronald Corbett ext 65563 rcorbett@camden.k12.nj.us *Wiggins and CBLPA
* indicates the base school for 2017-2018

Mission Statement for Attendance Department
The mission of the Camden City Public Schools' Attendance Department is to help accomplish the goal of education our diverse student population by ensuring that every Camden City Public School Student is in school 91.5 % of the time. Our district has an attendance policy that will help the parents, our schools, and our community to keep students in school and learning.                    

Goals of the Attendance Department

The goals of the department are:
  1. To enhance educational, social and economic opportunities for school age youth by impacting on their absenteeism and truancy;
  2. To impact on the systematic causes of truancy and absenteeism through linkage with juvenile service providers; and
  3. To reduce and prevent the incidence of juvenile delinquent acts during school hours.
                           
Daytime Curfew is the Law

Title 18A: 38-31 Violations of article by parents or guardians; penalties. Any child between the ages of at 6 and under 18 who is out of school during regular school hours is subject to be picked up by the police unless he/she is accompanied by a parent/guardian. 

Services of the Attendance Office to Maintain Attendance Percentile
The primary duties of the officers are designed to aid the district in maintaining a high attendance percentile. Attendance officers investigate students absent in assigned schools on a daily basis by servicing student absence slips from the schools. The officers are required to keep daily and weekly reports on student absences and check on the absences from their assigned schools. Parents and guardians are notified of conferences as requested by school officials regarding attendance related problems. Home visits of excessively absent students are conducted and the officers report their findings to the supervising chief attendance officer and the school. Parents who are not in compliance with state law 18 A:38-25 are taken to court.

Officers will check on student transfers within the district and out of the district to make certain that the students have reported to their receiving schools. They will also investigate a student's change of address and use every resource available to locate these students. 

Any suspected violations of the state's child labor laws or child welfare laws are reported. 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.